I too was in the boat during the storm when Jesus was sleeping…

I write this from the middle of the storm…

it’s a miracle I can still write because fear has taken captive of every part of me. My writing may be the only survivor of this storm. From where I stand, I see the raging waves and the roaring thunder, covering my eyes from the blinding lightening…it doesn’t look like an end would come, it doesn’t look like there is much hope.

 

From where I stand, I cannot see the shore…all I see is a mesh work of water and wind tumbling over each other in an endless race. One time, it seemed like it was subsiding and my hope grew, like a mighty power had heard my plea and waded in to save me but before I could even smile, the storm returned in angry revenge. Is there hope for me?…I am sitting in this boat, holding on tightly to the ropes else I would be forcibly expelled by the rocking vessel. Is there hope for me?

.
What haven’t I done? I have prayed…I have fasted….I have let go of the weights, the extra food, the extra cargo, the people I had caged with the bars of un-forgiveness but I am yet to see a difference. Is this some kind of punishment for my sins? But I thought the Lord said that if we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive. Surely, this is not a punishment.

.
‘Lord? Where are you?’ I lift my voice in a futile attempt to outdo the screaming thunder. ‘Are you really gonna let me die out here? I have tried everything and there is no way out.’ My angry voice soon gave way to subtle whimpers. ‘Don’t leave me…help me…deliver me, for I am weak but thou art mighty…’ I bent my head…awaiting my fate.

 

‘Sweetheart,’ I could almost swear that I heard a voice, not loud but audible and clearly distinct from the sound of the raging seas. Am I going crazy already or has my mind started playing tricks on me?

.
‘My child,Baby…’

.
I was definitely losing it. The voice was nearer and still approaching plus I heard footsteps. I had to be sure this wasn’t just some auditory hallucination. I looked up and I saw him…it was really him! He had heard me.

.
It was my Father, my Savior! He had come to save me. He opened his arms and beckoned me to come. I left the ropes and ran into his embrace, and a peace enveloped me. I never wanted to leave his arms…ever! That was where I was meant to be.

Suddenly all fear evaporated, I was safe in his arms!

‘My child,’ he said to me. ‘Why do you doubt me? Where is your faith, O little one?’ He tightened his grip, ‘Don’t you know that I would never leave you…don’t you know that I would never forsake you? Don’t you realize that your life is hidden in mine and no one can hurt you except I allow it? Did you forget that I was right inside this boat?’

.
‘I am sorry Father, I was scared.’ I felt a bout of shame crop up in my heart. How could I have forgotten his mighty power that I have seen in action several times in my life, his intervention in situations that were even worse than this. Worse still, I even forgot that he was right in my boat! ‘Forgive me please…’

.
He let go of me and walked to the edge of the rocking boat, raised his arms and said ‘Peace be still.’ And the storm ceased…Praise God, his love never fails!

7 Comments Add yours

    1. So sorry for the short and abrupt response, but it was late and the words were just lost on me. It seems most of my teachings in the church have been based off of turmoil in life through various metaphors, damp and arid. At church we just finished discussing Paul and his trip through the treacherous seas and guaranteeing with faith there will be safety. Then in my devotional book I am working on a section on deserts in our life. How it seems we feel cast out, separated, and punished by God, when indeed it is God creating his story for us. So it was moving and unnerving. Ive been in a desert of nearly four years it seems, but I’m no longer phased by it, because I know I have God on my side, though all these teachings all of the sudden worry me…am I being prepared for the worst yet to come? Or is it simply coincidence that I’m surrounded by those that needed a similar message? 😉

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Hahaha! Very funny. I know exactly what you mean! It happened to me too, and I was like ” Lord? really? another storm?…common.” Lol.

        But seriously though, hmmm…I think It could mean anything… it could mean that you are about to be delivered from your ‘dessert’ experience… or like you said, some more ( hopefully not 🙂 ) or it could be a message for someone else…or it may just be something that God wants you to know, and that’s it. Whichever way, It’d be clear in time.

        Storm and dessert experiences are no fun and frankly sometimes I feel like I could do without them…but something I try to tell myself is that… In the end, it’d be fine because God is a good father! So I can say with all certainty; you will be fine because Gods plans for you are just…beautiful.

        I like the way you said you are no longer phased by it because you know God is on your side. That is great faith!

        Thank you so much for sharing!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Vernon says:

    Hi BeeJay,
    Powerful!
    I remember storms coming and I couldn’t see the light. But now I know from experience there is light and a rainbow afterwards that reminds me of His promises.

    I came across your blog at OM meet and greet.
    Vernon

    Like

    1. That is just awesome Vernon, thank you so much for sharing your testimony…and thank you for reading!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

