How to be productive all the time

I am about to show you how an agricultural principle that Jesus spoke about can work in business and other areas of life…so follow me ..:-)

Today, I am going to talk about branches…like the branches of a tree. Why really do we need branches on a tree? For aesthetics? Or just for completeness? In other words, are branches essential to call a tree a tree? Perhaps all of the above, but mainly, a branch is the bearer of fruit. If a branch does not bear fruit, it is not a very useful branch and its absence will not really be a problem for the tree or anyone else…

Don’t be tired, I am getting somewhere, just keep following me.

There is also a reason why the English language uses “branch” as a synonym for “area” or “part.” For example, ‘what branch of medicine are you going into?’ (Please forgive my bias towards the medical field). Another example is “I work at the New York branch of my company.”

Branches are extensions. My branches are extensions of me and yours are extensions of you. If a ‘branch’ of a company is not making profit, then it is not useful and is usually closed down. Closing down ‘branches’ hurt because it means some people are going to be put out of work, but it is a better option than fruitlessness and un-productiveness.

 

Is it making some sense now? But I am not done yet…

So how about our lives? What does Jesus do to a branch in our lives that is not bearing fruit? … He cuts it off! Why? because you are better off without it, you can then channel your resources to other branches that do bear fruit.

Another question. 

What does Jesus do to a branch that does bear fruit? …he prunes it. He trims away the parts that are dead, or grew too much, with an ultimate aim to increase growth and fruitfulness. He makes sure that the growth is controlled and directed… He does this because He wants nothing but the best…so that you can fruit maximally! God will not settle for the ‘bare minimum to survive.’ He goes above and beyond. Ephesians chapter three verse twenty says that God is able to do exceedingly, abundantly above all we can ever ask or think!

We can not be connected to Jesus, the vine, and be fruitless. Because He has to show you off to the world, to show them that you have been with Him.

I hope while reading this short piece, you have started to think about your branches. I am thinking about mine too as I write…I mean type…. write…type…whatever, you know what I mean.

What are your extensions? family life? work life? friendships? careers? Let God prune it today so you can be the best…the best version of you!

Can you think of any other extensions of ourselves as people? Please comment below.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. J L Hunt says:

    Very good illustration…a good read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Edith says:

    Beautiful and thought provoking piece

    Like

Leave a Reply

