How to share your faith without being weird

Ever since I was a child, I always struggled with sharing my faith because I was scared it would make me look weird. The times that I actually mustered up the courage to do so, I did look weird and the people just stared at me… like I was crazy. Who can relate? Perhaps it was a temperament thing.

jbwsln6ovdo80

It was uncomfortable for me to just walk up to a person and start to tell them about how we are all sinners and Christ died for us  to save us from eternal damnation and all that good stuff. The response was usually something like this…

i5eqxtac9vhvw

I really wanted to share my faith but it was hard. I missed the point until recently…when I realized that  I was to share My faith… ‘My’ being the key word… I am to share what my faith means to me…I can tell my story of what my faith has done and still does for me.

Everyone loves a good story and the best story you can ever tell is your story, because you are the main character and you know it better than anyone else. Tell your friend the kind of person that you were before, and how God changed your life. Be human and share your struggles, your frustrations, your feelings… your brokenness until God fixed you.

3o7tkdvzhx5j7mbnc4

Some of you may say, well I have been born again all my life, I don’t really have that great of a ‘story’. It’s true, you may not have a story like Paul who was stopped in his tracks by bright lights but God did some miracle for you at one time or the other. It can be as simple as, “one time I was broke, I didn’t know how I was going to get by, but I prayed and somehow God provided.” Or ” I was so scared of that course, I thought I was going to fail but I decided to pray and trust God and He came through for me.”

woman-570883_640

It could even be a story about a family member whom God healed or saved. It may not sound like the traditional ‘faith sharing’ we have all heard about, but you are sharing your faith… you are letting the other party know that God is your source, your savior, your helper… and that if He did it for you, He can do it for them too!

So do not be scared, share your story and let the Holy Spirit do His work.

*** If you have a testimony that you would like to share on The Teller’s tales, please contact us here.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. You are an absolute blessing…I love every word you shared…God bless you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! Bless God and God bless you too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

