Where to find God

It’s not secret that drama sells! The more drama there is, the more views, likes, reposts,  and shares the story gets. We live in a dramatic world. Everything is boring until there is some ‘drama.’ We crave the drama, whether negative or positive. We want something extraordinary, something that would blow our minds. Unfortunately, this is the way we see God or we expect God to be. We want Him to be dramatic, after all He is a big God, and therefore everything he does should be massive and explosive.

12kiglydhedak8

Even when we pray, we expect dramatic answers. You ask God to use you to bless people, but the way you envision it is giving a powerful message to thousands of people and you forget your neighbor who needs someone to talk to. There is absolutely nothing wrong with expecting big things from God. In fact, He asks that we do so. But as much as we look for God in the dramatic, let us also look for Him in the un-dramatic, the whispers, our day to day lives, little blessings that He gives us, friends, family, breath, health… and the list goes on.

Remember Elijah, he went to mount Sinai to meet with God. We are told that there was a strong wind that made the mountains fall apart and then an earthquake, and then a fire but God was not in any of those. God was in the whisper. Sometimes we are looking for God in the dramatic when He is waiting for us in the whispers. Sometimes we are so focused on expecting a dramatic answer to our prayer but God is working underground to answer us.

ghpfnk0piaey0

We need to learn to see God in little things because the truth is: God is in every detail of our lives. Look out for God and what He is trying to do when He brings a sad friend into your home.

It is a whole mindset of God consciousness. Always asking God what He is doing, even in the things that do not seem pleasant. I heard the story of a lady who was driving in a rather dangerous neighborhood and then had a flat tire. She pulled the car over to a gas station, not really knowing what next was going to happen, but she said to herself ” I wonder what good thing God is going to bring out of this situation.” Sure enough, a homeless man came to help her out. She ended up giving him her card and the story ends by she helping him to find a home! God is always working. Look out for Him. Mordecai, in the Bible, Esther’s cousin had this mindset. Remember what he told Esther when there was a decree to kill all the Jews?

He said to her “perhaps God brought you to your position for such a time as this.”

Let us not be like the Pharisees who were waiting for signs but were ignoring the Savior’s message of salvation. God is working in every detail of our lives. He moves everyday, He always has something up His sleeves. Look for Him, be conscious, be attentive otherwise you might miss Him. Look for Him in the details, see how the puzzles make sense. Observe how God has to do A to get to B.

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Agent X says:

    Okay, I like your post. I really do. First time commenter, I know… But you seem to equate drama with bigness, and I gotta quibble with that. In fact there is a lot of big drama in small humble places. And I am counting on being part of God’s big drama.

    In fact, the execution of yet another Jew at the hands of Rome that day at Golgotha surely would not make ANY headlines. Dead Jews were a dime a dozen… in fact so were messiahs. “Messiahs” popped up and led revolutions for 150 years before Jesus and 150 years after. And we don’t know the names of most of them, only a few. But a few of them did make some real headlines! Judas Maccabee even won independence for his nation – independence that lasted more than 100 years and wound up being the basis for Hanukkah, which Jesus celebrated too, btw (John 10:22-23).

    But of course we believe Jesus was the real Messiah of God, the one even King David merely parodied. And God took this young prophet riding a donkey and crowned him King in the most dramatic fashion imaginable, except that no one could imagine it until he appeared alive again 3 days later. No… it had looked like the most shameful, miserable, embarrassing failure and probably felt like it to endure. But through that dead Jew, one of sooooooooo many before and after, God did his greatest drama.

    Question is… who dares to be used by THIS God in any dramas he might produce?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Awesome job as a first time commenter!!! I love the point you made, very true! Looking forward to your second…third…and tenth comments!!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Agent X says:

        Cool.

        I just discovered your blog (seems like that was a couple nights ago now) and though I did not explore it much, I like what I see. Tellers tales…. I like that. I remember getting enthused in school about Narrative Theology – probably my term for it, but the literary and then especially narrative approach to understanding Scripture holds so much dynamic power. I even tried to start a Narrative Ministry, but stalled out in development pretty early actually. But your blog seems to capture some of the sense of what I was after.

        I quibbled with your note on drama, largely because I think drama (has differing levels of meaning really) is a deep part of narrative. I don’t want to sell it short one inch. Nevertheless, your larger point was not/is not lost on me. I think you are right on it.

        As for myself, over time my ministry has become prophetic in nature. But like the prophets of old, Jesus included, there are two styles of prophecy we might engage. One is Oracles (prophetic preaching) and the other is symbolic dramatic acts (what we call Proph-O-Drama).

        I popped over on your NOTE FROM BEEJAY and found there a deeply coinciding method of the madness there. I too seek mainly to illuminate Scripture – the narrative – but through drama. I will share more of that in detail, perhaps in comment number 10 😉

        Thanks for letting me join. I like what I see here…

        Agent X
        Fat Beggars School of Prophets
        Lubbock, Texas (USA)

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Awesome! Agent X, so much insight! I am assuming you went to seminary? I am thrilled that this whole thing resonates with you. I like the term “Narrative Theology.”
          Well, I am looking forward to your 10th comment—that is for sure!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Agent X says:

            Ha! You’re funny…

            You don’t really know me. I am a blabber. I have a hard time shutting up! You know what they say about vampires? Don’t invite one in your house, that renders you powerless against them! (Actually, the person who invented that statement surely was thinking of Jehovah’s Witness.) Point being, beware what you ask. I really need to quit with that for now. But I will be back.

            Three comments from this first time commenter is pretty good! Patience grasshoppa! Like Arnold… I’ll be back!

            Liked by 1 person

            1. hahah! I am not afraid. Bring it on, I can handle you!
              I’ll be waiting…

              Like

  2. Matt says:

    Wow. This is great. So true. Sometimes we forget how intricate God is. Especially when it comes to understanding how He loves each and everyone one of us.

    This was a great post! Thank you for the encouragement and the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup! You are absolutely right! Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You’ve made some very good points. People think they have to be missionaries and go to a foreign country to see and do God’s work but we can make a difference in our own backyard. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! Thank you for reading! God bless!

      Like

  4. God is in the small things of life… He likes small and big dramas of life. I really do appreciate this post… Encouraging for me. Thanks for sharing. And pleased to make your acquaintance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! God bless you! Pleased to meet you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

