Can I be honest?

So it’s been confusing to me when I hear some preachers say,  ‘Don’t say what you feel, speak Faith.’ While I agree that we should not focus too much on our feelings, does that mean I cannot be honest with God, myself and others?

I was reading Everyday with Jesus by Selwyn Hughes and he talked about the same issue . I will share a few of his thoughts here:
“Some people say, ‘whenever you see a problem, turn your back on it, begin to praise the Lord and it will disappear.’ A number even go further to claim: ‘ when you confess you have a problem, you allow it to take foothold in your life and you will not be able to get rid of it. Confession leads to possession – you will possess what you confess.’
“While I heartily agree that we can focus so long on our problems that we can lose spiritual perspective – the problems become bigger and God smaller. But let us not fall into the trap of thinking that refusing to acknowledge a problem makes it go away…
“Those who cope with problems by believing that it does not exist are putting themselves in danger. Nothing is solved by evasion, for whatever we try to evade comes back to pervade. It comes back in the form of hidden complexes – an undertow of discord that restrains our spiritual progress.”

I think about this and I remember the scripture that says we should cast our anxiety on Jesus because He cares for us. If I never admit my anxiety which is clearly a negative emotion, how can I then cast it on Jesus? If I don’t admit that I am feeling anxious, scared, upset, jealous, terrified, selfish, rejected, inadequate, insufficient, sick, weak…then I suppress it. But God wants me to cast it on Him. Not to dwell on it, but cast it on Him. Not to worry about it, but cast it on Him. Not to deny that it is there, but to cast it on Him.

giphy

Think about this ; If I woke up with stomach pains and I went to see a Doctor. If I do not admit to him/her that I have stomach pains and even go into details of how it feels, how would he/she be able to help me? If the doctor asked me why I was here and I said “Well, I am not sick.” Then he or she is going to stare at me like something else is wrong… Remember that Jesus came for the sick and not for the healthy. It’s okay to need help; we cannot be strong all the time. The Bible says we should approach the throne of grace with confidence that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need. He said this because He knows we need Him.

David was the most brutally honest man I have ever known (well, heard of). Reading some of the psalms, I would be cringing in my seat thinking ‘ I can’t believe David said that to God!’ Sometimes David even tells God that He – God is unfair and that he (David) is upset with Him (God). Yet, this was the man after God’s own heart. It therefore gives me permission to be honest with God, myself and others.

Do you have any thoughts? Put it in the comment section below.

Reference: EDWJ by Selwyn Hughes (for Sunday, July 9,2017)

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. esther says:

    yes! this is so good!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Edith says:

    Best to always be honest with God. He is after all our father and our friend

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup! Absolutely right
      !

      Like

Leave a Reply

